Access Services Manager
Minnesota Residents
Minnesota Residents
Minnesota Residents can use databases provided by ELM, the Electronic Library for Minnesota. Click the link below to explore these resources. Databases and newspapers include...
- Academic Search Premier
- Consumer Health Complete
- MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines)
- New York Times
- Wall Street Journal
- eLibrary Minnesota
This link opens in a new window
Library resources available within the State of Minnesota for Minnesota residents. Many of these resources use geolocation to authenticate within Minnesota. Contact your Minnesota public library for additional access.
Concordia Library Databases
Fargo-Moorhead community members can visit the library in person to use library databases
- Visit the library's Reference Desk
- Ask for a temporary username and password for the computers
- Use a library computer to access subscription databases in Concordia's A-Z List of Databases.
What is an Open Access Database?
What is an Open Access Database?
Open Access Databases are repositories of articles, data, and images. These databases are freely available online.
Click below to find a list of Open Access Databases recommended by Concordia librarians:
- Open Access DatabasesOpen Access Databases recommended by Concordia librarians.
Open Access Databases
- arXiv.orgFull-text, free online content of academic papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, and computer science.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)Provided by the Getty Research Institute, the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) (RILA) are combined into one search tool that provides abstracts and indexing for materials published between 1975 and 2007.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)The Biodiversity Heritage Library is a group of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize biodiversity literature held in their collections and available for all to use. The BHL contains texts with information on over a 150 million species names.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (ed.gov)The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database is an internet-based digital library of education research and information. The collection includes records for over 1.6 million journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials published since 1966.
- Google ScholarTo display FindIt links for Concordia, click on preferences, look for "Concordia College, Moorhead Minnesota" under Find a Library. Google's scholarly publication search. Note that the most cited articles appear at the top of the results list.
- PubMed Central (PMC)A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature hosted by the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
- Zentralblatt MATHFull-text, Open Access Mathematics resource: The ZMATH Database contains millions of entries drawn from about 3500 journals and 1100 serials dating from 1868 to present.
- Congress.govLibrary of Congress website containing U.S. Congress legislation, Congressional Record debates, Members of Congress, and legislative process educational resources.
- American Fact Finder (Explore Census Data)American FactFindh has been decommissioned, Search the Census data...demographic, economic, and housing information.
- GovInfoProvides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government
- GPO Monthly Catalog of Government Publications
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates and records, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments. - National Center for Educational Statistics (NCES)NCES collects, collates, analyzes, and reports complete statistics on the condition of American education; conducts and publishes reports; and reviews and reports on education activities internationally.
- USA.govOnline, easy to use guide to government information and services. Includes a directory of government resources with links to federal agencies, health, housing, jobs, money, travel and more.
- Digital HorizonsDigital Horizonsis an online treasure house of thousands of images, documents, video, and oral histories depicting life on the Northern Plains from the late 1800s to today. Here you'll find a fascinating snapshot of the lives, culture, and history of the people who shaped life on the prairies.
- Minnesota People Records SearchIndex for birth, death and veteran's graves. Index and digitized MN census records.
- Minnesota Digital Library MDLDatabase of digitized original materials shared by cultural heritage organizations located across our state. These materials include images, text, audio, film, and more, with new items added on a regular basis. The resources found on this site support research for scholars, educators, students, and the public.
- Minnesota State LegislatureFind past and current bills of the Minnesota state legislature, including the states statutes, regulations, and legislator information.
- MNOPEDIAAn online encyclopedia about the State of Minnesota developed by the Minnesota Historical Society (MNHS) and its partners. Free, curated, and authoritative articles. Prepared by historians, consulting experts, professional writers, and others who have been vetted by MNHS.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963. View newspaper pages 1860-1925 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. You can also limit by State and ethnicity.
- ConcordianConcordia College's student-run news publication. It's first issue came out in 1920. The newspaper is a popular source for campus and world news. It serves as an excellent resource for examining the history and life of Concordia's community.
- Historical Minneapolis TribuneThe Minneapolis Tribune was published six to seven days a week from 1867 to 1982, when it merged with the Minneapolis Star to form the Minneapolis Star and Tribune. It was variously known as Minneapolis Daily Tribune, Sunday Tribune, the Tribune, Daily Minnesota Tribune and Minneapolis Morning Tribune. Issues published after 1922 were not digitized due to copyright restrictions.
Daily Minnesota tribune (Minneapolis, Minn.; St. Paul, Minn.) 1882-1884
Minneapolis daily tribune (Minneapolis, Minn.) 1867-1876
Minneapolis daily tribune (Minneapolis, Minn.) 1884-1886
Minneapolis morning tribune (Minneapolis, Minn.) 1909-1930
Minneapolis tribune (Minneapolis, Minn.) 1876-1877
Minneapolis tribune (Minneapolis, Minn.) 1886-1909
Tribune (Minneapolis, Minn.) 1877-1882 - INFORUMINFORUM is the online newspaper for Fargo, North Dakota. Access a limited number of recent INFORUM articles for free. For unlimited and archival access, see the Forum Online Edition.
- Internet Archive Ebooks and TextsOffers over 15,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts including 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
- Minnesota Digital Newspaper HubA searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes hundreds of thousands of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1856 and today.