The library licenses databases, ebooks, and other online resource for both on-campus and off-campus use. There are multiple ways to access the library databases. To get to these resources...
If you want to browse all our databases...
If you try to go directly to the database website from your web browser you will get a message that you don’t have access or that you need to pay for access.
If none of these options are working for you, please contact the reference librarians via email (askccref@cord.edu), chat, or phone (218-299-4640). Look for the Ask a Librarian link in the bottom right corner of your screen to web chat with a reference librarian.
Yes, many e-books can be downloaded. If the whole book does not download, you can try downloading by chapter.
Some e-books have a single user access and downloads may be limited. If you have questions contact the library by email at askccref@cord.edu.
NOTE: Ebook Central ebooks have unlimited access and downloads through June 2020.
Yes, the librarians can help you via email or chat. To chat with us, click on the Ask a Librarian link at the bottom of the page. If a librarian is on duty you can initiate a chat session. If a librarian isn’t on duty you can send us an email at askccref@cord.edu. You could also contact your liaison librarian. Check the list of librarians. You can also go to the openly accessible OWL site maintained by Purdue University and find information about citing sources in MLA, APA, or Chicago styles.
Citation formats for articles are available when you search the library catalog and in many databases. Refworks also offers 100+ citation styles.
Refworks Legacy http://cordproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/
New Refworks http://cordproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=https://refworks.proquest.com/
Yes, our online databases contain many encyclopedias and dictionaries. See our A-Z List of Databases: Reference for a list of online reference sources.
If you need information from a print reference book, we can work with you to send scanned copies of entries or chapters.
Yes, articles can still be ordered from other libraries and will be delivered via email to patrons. Books can be ordered through ILL for patrons who remain on campus.
Email ckkill@cord.edu or landerso@cord.edu with questions.
The librarians will be available to help via email, chat, or phone. Look for the Ask a Librarian link in the bottom right corner of your screen. If a librarian isn’t available to chat, you can submit a question by email (askccref@cord.edu). Or, you can contact the librarian assigned to your class or major directly by email. Your librarian’s name and contact information might be listed on your course syllabus. If not, here is the list of librarians.
The library also has a set of tutorials and videos in the DIY Library that might be useful resources for helping you use some of the library databases, cite sources, or write a research question.
The library's physical building is currently closed. We can’t send you the print book, but we can probably scan sections or chapters to send to you by email. Or, we might be able to recommend alternate ebooks that you could access online. Email us at Circdept@cord.edu, or landerso@cord.edu
Renew books from your Online Library Account or email Circdept@cord.edu, or landerso@cord.edu. We will be working to renew all checked-out books until the end of the semester.
Search in the Library Catalog.
NOTE: Ebook Central ebooks have unlimited access and downloads through June 2020.
If none of these options are working for you, please contact the reference librarians via email (askccref@cord.edu), chat, or phone (218-299-4640). On the library website, look for the Ask a Librarian link in the bottom right corner of your screen to web chat with a reference librarian.
All books will be renewed until the end of the semester.
Each academic department, program, and major/minor at Concordia has an assigned librarian. Your librarian’s name might be listed on your course syllabus. If not, here is the list of librarians.