Skip to Main Content

How to troubleshoot electronic resources

Article link is broken or leads to wrong article

  1. Contact us by reporting the link. Click on the title of the article to report a broken link.

  1. Next, click on the article title to see if the article is available through other links. 

try other links

  1. If all links are broken, visit the library's Reference Desk for help, chat with us, or email us at askccref@cord.edu. 

Being asked to pay for an article

The Library offers articles to the Concordia community free of charge. If you are asked to pay for an article, try the following:

  1. First, make sure you are accessing the database through...

If you access a database through Google, you will not be logged in through Concordia's access. 

  1. If you can't find the database you are looking for...
  • Copy the title of the article you are being asked to pay for.
  • Paste the title into the Library Catalog.
  • If the library has electronic access to the article, you will see a "View full text" button.

  1. If you find the article but do not see a "View full text" button, submit an Interlibrary Loan request by clicking the "Request ILL" button and filling out the request form. 

request ill button

Cannot find an article

  1. First, try putting the title of the item in quotation marks to search for the title as an exact phrase:

 

 

 

  1. Next, if that didn't work, try doing an Advanced Search. Add the author's last name or other information to make your search more specific: 

add author last name to advanced search

FindIt takes me to the journal

The Library's FindIt Button FindIt button searches the Carl B.'s databases for the item you are seeking. Sometimes the Findit button can find the journal, but not the article. If the FindIt Button takes you to a journal page but you don't see the article you want, try the following things:

  1. Search for the article title using the search box within the journal or database, or look for the volume and issue the article is published in.

identify year, volume, and issue

find year, volume, and issue

  1. If that doesn't work, check in the library catalog and click on the title to see if there is another link available.

try other links

  1. If you still cannot find the full text, or are asked to pay for the article, submit an Interlibrary Loan Request or ask a librarian for help!