Biography
- Britannica Academic
This link opens in a new window
With contributions from Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors and other notable experts, Britannica Academic provides trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else. - Credo Reference
A library subscription database that provides access to thousands of articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. It is a great place to find overviews and background information on your research topic. - Grove Art OnlineLimited to 5 users. Remember to enable cookies and log off when you are done. A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day.
Art Museums
- National Gallery of ArtOfficial website of the National Gallery of Art. Search the entire collection by artist's last name, key words in the title, key words in object information, credit line, provenance name, or exhibition history. Lessons and activities for teachers are available under the "Education" section.
- NGA ImagesNGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. Over 51,000 art images are available for download.
Finding Books
The Curriculum Center is an excellent resource for finding picture books, young adult fiction and nonfiction, world language books, and professional books designed to help educators prepare lesson plans.
1. Go to the library homepage
2. Locate the "Curriculum" tab and click on it
3. Type your search term into the box
a. Click the dropdown arrow and select a specific collection if you want search a specific area or leave it to search all areas
4. Hit SEARCH
Easy Readers - Picture books for Pre-K and elementary school students
Fiction - Chapter books and graphic novels for middle & high school students
Nonfiction - Books based on facts, real events, and real people for K-12 students
Professional - Textbooks and lesson planning material for educators
World Languages - K-12 books in languages other than English
Images
Using images from the web can conflict with copyright laws. Be careful to always choose images that are approved for educational use or that have a creative commons license.
- ArtstorA digital library of more than two million images. Artstor includes items in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. It also provides a suite of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. *Images in Artstor are rights-cleared for educational use.*
To automatically save images to a PowerPoint from ArtStor:
- Sign in to ArtStor (you will need to create an account linked to your Cord email)
- Search for images
- For the images you want to include in a PowerPoint, hover over each image and click the check-mark box in the upper right of the image
- Click “Organize” in the Tool Ribbon near the top
- Choose “Save selections to new group”
- Name the group, create a description, and add any tags you would like
- Click “Create”
- A pop-out will appear in the upper right of your screen: click on “Go to Group”
- On the right, click on “Export”
- Export to PowerPoint (it will take a moment to make the slides)
- Open PowerPoint and enable editing
- FlickrChange the license type to "All Creative Commons" to find images that are free to use and share without violating copyright.
- PixabayOver 1.5 million royalty free stock photos and videos.
- Creative Commons Search"CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution."
Lesson Plans
- KinderArtProvides lesson plans by age or grade, discipline or technique, materials, theme, or season.
- Crayola Lesson PlansFind thousands of lesson plans that support and extend instruction in every content area, grades K-12.
- The Art of EducationWebsite created by art educators that includes lesson plans, classroom resources, and professional development articles.
An Eye for Art
- An Eye for Art: Focusing on Great Artists and Their WorkThis family-oriented art resource introduces children to more than 50 great artists and their work, with corresponding activities and explorations that inspire artistic development, focused looking, and creative writing. Grouped around seven general themes, the book highlights works from different time periods to encourage comparisons among them.