The Carl B.'s WorldCat Discovery library catalog provides access to a vast array of information sources. With it, you can locate high-quality research sources of virtually all types and in multiple formats. While this tool will be invaluable as you research, the sheer volume of information may sometimes feel overwhelming. If you are looking for a way to make your searches more manageable and effective, try the following:
- Identify your specific information needs: Before beginning your search, think about the type and format of information that your professor has asked you to use.
- Utilize the advanced search feature: This allows for more accurate and targeted searches.
- Break your topic idea into key concepts: Think of related words and phrases for each concept.Try multiple combinations of your terms and stay flexible.
- Apply appropriate limits: One effective technique is to initially focus WorldCat Discovery searches on books (both print and electronic). This approach can help you reduce your search results a bit and locate relevant sources more efficiently.
By concentrating on books first, you can also establish a solid foundation for your project before exploring an even more extensive collection of periodical articles available through the library's many other specialized databases.
-
Five Empresses: Court Life in Eighteenth-century Russia
by
Call Number: DK127.4 .A5513 2004ISBN: 9780275984649Publication Date: 2004-11-30 -
The Fragile Empire: A History of Imperial Russia
by
Call Number: DK127 .C48 1999ISBN: 9780826411884Publication Date: 2001-02-01 -
Lost Kingdom: The Quest for Empire and the Making of the Russian Nation, From 1470 to the Present
by
Call Number: DK43 .P56 2017ISBN: 9780465098491Publication Date: 2017-10-10 -
Social Identity in Imperial Russia
by
Call Number: HN590.Z9 S63 1997ISBN: 9780875802312Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Like print books, electronic books (eBooks) provide more coverage of a topic, including historical context, theoretical frameworks, and detailed explanations. They also synthesize a broader range of information and perspectives, making books especially valuable for gaining a deep and well-rounded understanding of their subject. Additionally, books may also undergo a thorough editorial process, ensuring higher levels of accuracy and reliability in the information they present.
To locate eBooks in the Carl B., try searching one of the library's largest eBook collections, ProQuest Ebook Central. Ebook Central is a comprehensive digital platform offering a vast collection of scholarly eBooks across various disciplines. It provides easy access to high-quality academic content, making it an essential resource for research and study. You can read, download, and annotate eBooks, enhancing their research experience with convenient tools and features.
- As you begin searching in this database, use the "browse subjects" option to target your results to a specific subject area.
- Skim through your eBook's table of contents to see if you can locate an individual chapter(s) related to your topic.
- Check the eBook's index for keywords or phrases related to your topic.
