Open-Access Image Collections
| When you use open-access image collections, you must investigate usage rights for every image. In Getty Images, for example, there is a charge for many images (even if used for educational purposes) when the images are intended for "public use." Getty's "Comp" use option only allows 30 days use before you are in violation of their policies. Other collections may be intended for educational use, but also stipulate off-line/non-public use. For Open-Access image collections, search collections such as those provided by the Library of Congress or the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. These sites save time and you don't have to worry about violating copyright or usage policies. |
- Getty Images ArchiveA comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day.
- Getty Search Gateway"The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids. While users can search some of these collections individually using online search engines associated with the specific repository, Getty Search Gateway brings records from several of these databases together under one umbrella. Most of these repositories are not searchable through the Getty website's search tool, and some are only searchable here through Getty Search Gateway."
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog"Today's Library of Congress is an unparalleled world resource. The collection of more than 167 million items includes more than 39 million cataloged books and other print materials in 470 languages; more than 72 million manuscripts; the largest rare book collection in North America; and the world's largest collection of legal materials, films, maps, sheet music and sound recordings."
- National Archives"The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever."
Artstor
Artstor images are approved for work that is internally presented to the class. If you are doing a public-facing project, use images with Creative Commons permissions for public display.
Artstor images can be added to a PowerPoint as you are searching. Just follow these steps:
- Log into Artstor (you will need to create an account associated with your Cord email address)
- Search, using your preferred term
- Hover over each image you wish to add to your PowerPoint slides and check-mark the small box above the image
- Once you have selected all of your images, hover over "Organize" and choose "Save selections to new group" ( you may also add tags to the folder when you name the folder)
- Click on the "Go to Group" that appears on the top right of the webpage
- In the folder, hover over the images you wish to put in your PowerPoint and check-mark the image boxes
- Click on the "Export" button and choose PowerPoint
- The images will be downloaded into a PowerPoint on your computer
- The citation information for each image will automatically appear in the notes section of each slide
- ArtstorA digital library of more than two million images. Artstor includes items in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. It also provides a suite of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. *Images in Artstor are rights-cleared for educational use.*