Reference books and databases, including encyclopedias and dictionaries, provide interesting background information, broad overviews, and relevant facts about a topic. As you begin any research project, using a reference source will help you gain a deeper understanding of the subject you have chosen. Reference tools also help you narrow and focus your ideas, making the rest of your work in the library more efficient and effective.
Colonial America: an Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History (5 volume set) by Call Number: REFERENCE E162 .C653ISBN: 0765680653Publication Date: 2006-05-15
Countries, Peoples and Cultures (9 volume set) by Call Number: REFERENCE F1436 .C68ISBN: 9781619258006Publication Date: 2015-12-30
Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Call Number: REFERENCE GF4 .E5364 2006ISBN: 9780761988588Publication Date: 2006-05-16
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion (2 volume set) by Call Number: REFERENCE BL 65 P7 E53ISBN: 9780872893238Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations (4 volume set) by Call Number: REFFERENCE D860 .M56 2002ISBN: 0313316171Publication Date: 2002-05-30
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities by Call Number: REFERENCE GN495.4 .E5396ISBN: 9781579583927Publication Date: 2004-11-29
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450Call Number: REFERENCE JV22 .E539 2007ISBN: 9780028658438Publication Date: 2006-08-25
World Geography (6 volume set) by Call Number: G133 .W88 2020ISBN: 9781642654257Publication Date: 2020-10-30A six-volume geographic encyclopedia of the world, continents and countries of each continent. In addition to physical geography, the set also addresses human geography including population distribution, physiography and hydrology, biogeography and natural resources, economic geography, and political geography.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Call Number: REFERENCE GN333 .W67 2009ISBN: 9781414448824Publication Date: 2009-05-12
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices (3 volume set) by Call Number: REFERENCE BL80.3 .W674ISBN: 9780787666118Publication Date: 2005-11-18
- Atlas of World ReligionsFeaturing more than sixty brand new maps, photographs, diagrams and charts, the Atlas of World Religions is an essential companion to any study on the key religions of the world.
- Cassell's Peoples, Nations and CulturesA unique and comprehensive historical guide to the world's peoples, from the earliest times to the present.
- Credo ReferenceAn online research platform providing access to hundreds of high-quality reference works from reputable publishers. It offers a wide range of content including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and subject-specific titles across various disciplines. The database features a user-friendly interface with tools for cross-referencing, visual concept mapping, and seamless integration with other library resources.
- Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, & Africa: An EncyclopediaIn our age of globalization and multiculturalism, it has never been more important for Americans to understand and appreciate foreign cultures and how people live, love, and learn in areas of the world unfamiliar to most U.S. students and the general public. The four volumes in our cultural sociology reference encyclopedia take a step forward in this endeavor by presenting concise information on those regions likely to be most “foreign” to U.S. students: the Middle East, Asia, and Africa.
- Cultures, Citizenship, and Human RightsIn Cultures, Citizenship and Human Rights the combined analytical efforts of the fields of human rights law, conflict studies, anthropology, history, media studies, gender studies, and critical race and postcolonial studies raise a comprehensive understanding of the discursive and visual mediation of migration and manifestations of belonging and citizenship. More insight into the convergence, but also the tensions between the cultural and the legal foundations of citizenship, has proven to be vital to the understanding of societies past and present, especially to assess processes of inclusion and exclusion.
- International Encyclopedia of Human GeographyInternational Encyclopedia of Human Geography, Second Edition embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors - in other words, the things that make people and places different.
- Sage ReferenceA digital library of reference works and academic books produced by Sage Publications. It covers a wide range of social science disciplines, including sociology, psychology, education, business, and political science. The collection provides researchers, students, and faculty with authoritative, peer-reviewed content in a user-friendly online format, featuring advanced search capabilities and regular updates.
- The SAGE Encyclopedia of the Sociology of ReligionThe SAGE Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Religion takes a look at the role of religion in society; unpacking and evaluating the significance of religion in and on human history; and tracing and outlining the social forces and influences that shape religion.
- The SAGE Handbook of IdentitiesThe SAGE Handbook of Identities draws on a global scholarship to cover in four parts its: Frameworks: presents the main theoretical and methodological perspectives in identities research. Formations: covers the major formative forces for identities such as culture, globalization, migratory patterns, biology and so on. Categories: reviews research on the core social categories which are central to identity such as ethnicity, gender, sexuality, disability and social class and intersections between these. Sites and Context: develops a series of case studies of crucial sites and contexts where identity is at stake such as social movements, relationships and family life, work-places and environments and citizenship.
- World GeographyAn encyclopedia of the world, continents and countries of each continent. In addition to physical geography, the set also addresses human geography including population distribution, physiography and hydrology, biogeography and natural resources, economic geography, and political geography.
- World Geography and Culture OnlineEvery country of the world is profiled in depth, with more than 40 entries and more than 100 statistical indicators covering all aspects of its geography, history, society, and culture. At-a-glance information, maps and flags, videos, images, gazetteer entries, biographies of famous people, a timeline, and current news supplement each country profile.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious PracticesWorldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.