Library Liaison
Background Information
Online Reference
- Grove Art Online Limited to 5 users. Remember to enable cookies and log off when you are done. A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day.
- Credo Reference A library subscription database that provides access to thousands of articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. It is a great place to find overviews and background information on your research topic.
Print Reference
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Call Number: Reference TR642 .E536 2006 v.1-3ISBN: 1579583938Publication Date: 2005-11-15
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography by Call Number: Reference TR9 .F63 2007ISBN: 9780240807409Publication Date: 2007-04-11
Books and Exhibition Catalogs
How to find exhibition catalogs:
1. Go to the library homepage, find the search box.
2. Limit results to BOOKS
3. Type, "artist name AND exhibition"
4. Hit SEARCH
The Carl B has exhibition catalogs for some artists, but you may need to Interlibrary Loan the catalog for your artist or designer.
This means we will borrow the book from another library. This process is free, and takes 2-10 days.
Articles
- WorldCat Discovery ConcordiaIf you find an article about your artist listed on their online portfolio, try copying and pasting the title into the online library catalog. Click the "view full text" link to read articles, or "Request ILL" to request articles through interlibrary loan.
- Art Full-text Offers full text and indexing of journals in art and art history, including coverage of non-Western art, contemporary art, theatre art, and exhibition reviews. Indexing from 1984 to the present, and select full text available from 1995 to the present.
- JSTOR JSTOR is a searchable archive containing the full text of over 850 scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Concordia has access to Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, VII, Life Sciences and a number of individual Current Collection titles.
- Project MUSE Includes scholarly articles covering a range of fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, and many others.
Images
Search for images created by your artist:
- Artstor A digital library of more than two million images. Artstor includes items in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. It also provides a suite of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. *Images in Artstor are rights-cleared for educational use.*
- George Eastman Museum Search the George Eastman Museum's extensive photography collections.
- Advanced Google Image SearchUse an advanced Google image search to find images. Scroll down to limit by usage rights.
Don't forget: during your presentation, tell us where you got your images. Image creators deserve credit for their work.