Library Liaison
A great way to start any research project is by using a reference source to quickly find an overview, general information, or specific facts about your topic idea. Reference sources are invaluable for gaining a basic understanding of your subject and can help you refine a broad topic into a more focused research question. These sources provide concise and authoritative information, making them an excellent starting point for your research journey. Reference sources are typically used to obtain quick facts or general context, rather than being read from start to finish. They are designed to offer summary information and are often consulted to clarify specific details or to get an initial sense of the subject matter. By engaging with these sources early in your research process, you can better identify key concepts, terms, and significant aspects of your topic. Common types include:
- Dictionaries: Define terms and concepts. (Example)
- Encyclopedias: Provide comprehensive overviews of subjects. (Example)
- Bibliographies: List relevant books and articles. (Example)
- Almanacs: Offer statistical and factual data. (Example)
- Directories: Contain contact information for organizations and individuals. (Example)
- Atlases: Include maps and geographical data. (Example)
- Handbooks: Give detailed information on specific fields. (Example)
The Carl B. offers both online and print reference sources. Some of our online databases provide digital versions of reference materials, which can be accessed remotely and are frequently updated. Print reference books, on the other hand, are available in the library's reference collection and can be consulted on-site.
The American Women's Almanac: 500 Years of Making History by Call Number: REFERENCE HQ1410 .F43 2020ISBN: 9781578596362Publication Date: 2020-02-01
Countries, Peoples and Cultures by Call Number: REFERENCE F1436 .C68ISBN: 9781619258006Publication Date: 2015-12-309 vols.
Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History by Call Number: REFERENCE TT957 .S46 2023ISBN: 9781440873485Publication Date: 2023-03-30
The Encyclopedia of LGBTQIA+ Portrayals in American Film by Call Number: REFERENCE PN1995.9.H55 E53 2022ISBN: 9781538153901Publication Date: 2022-10-15
Ethics: Questions & Morality of Human Actions by Call Number: REFERENCE BJ63 .E845 2019ISBN: 9781682179284Publication Date: 2019-06-30
- Britannica AcademicWith contributions from Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors and other notable experts, Britannica Academic provides trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- CQ ResearcherWeekly publication containing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Full-text articles are available from 1923.
- Credo ReferenceAn online research platform providing access to hundreds of high-quality reference works from reputable publishers. It offers a wide range of content including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and subject-specific titles across various disciplines. The database features a user-friendly interface with tools for cross-referencing, visual concept mapping, and seamless integration with other library resources.
- Sage ReferenceA digital library of reference works and academic books produced by Sage Publications. It covers a wide range of social science disciplines, including sociology, psychology, education, business, and political science. The collection provides researchers, students, and faculty with authoritative, peer-reviewed content in a user-friendly online format, featuring advanced search capabilities and regular updates.
