Websites
- National Gallery of ArtOfficial website of the National Gallery of Art. Search the entire collection by artist's last name, key words in the title, key words in object information, credit line, provenance name, or exhibition history. Lessons and activities for teachers are available under the "Education" section.
- NGA ImagesNGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. Over 51,000 art images are available for download.
- Smithsonian American Art Museum"The Smithsonian American Art Museum, the nation’s first collection of American art, is an unparalleled record of the American experience. The collection captures the aspirations, character, and imagination of the American people throughout three centuries."
Librarian
Finding Books
The Curriculum Center is an excellent resource for finding picture books, young adult fiction and nonfiction, world language books, and professional books designed to help educators prepare lesson plans.
1. Go to the library homepage
2. Locate the "Curriculum" tab and click on it
3. Type your search term into the box
a. Click the dropdown arrow and select a specific collection if you want search a specific area or leave it to search all areas
4. Hit SEARCH
Easy Readers - Picture books for Pre-K and elementary school students
Fiction - Chapter books and graphic novels for middle & high school students
Nonfiction - Books based on facts, real events, and real people for K-12 students
Professional - Textbooks and lesson planning material for educators
World Languages - K-12 books in languages other than English
Images
Using images from the web can conflict with copyright laws. Be careful to always choose images that are approved for educational use or that have a creative commons license.
- FlickrChange the license type to "All Creative Commons" to find images that are free to use and share without violating copyright.
- PixabayOver 1.5 million royalty free stock photos and videos.
- Creative Commons Search"CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution."
Music
- NAXOS Music Library, ClassicalThe Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive online classical library providing streaming access to over 137,000 CDs. Recordings include the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogs plus complete catalogs or selected titles from over 650 other record labels. In addition to classical music, the collection includes jazz, pop/rock, and world musics.
- Library of Congress National JukeboxHistorical Recordings from the Library of Congress.
- Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online is a comprehensive full text music encyclopedia which includes content from the Grove music dictionaries (Grove Music Online) as well as content from the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music (Oxford Reference).
Lesson Plans
- KinderArtProvides lesson plans by age or grade, discipline or technique, materials, theme, or season.
- Crayola Lesson PlansFind thousands of lesson plans that support and extend instruction in every content area, grades K-12.
- The Art of EducationWebsite created by art educators that includes lesson plans, classroom resources, and professional development articles.
Art Journals
- Scholastic ArtIncludes lessons on classic and contemporary artists and hands-on workshop projects for a balanced art curriculum.
- Art EducationArticles, special reports and thematic issues on all aspects of art education published by the National Art Education Association.
Citation Managers
A citation manager is a tool designed to store citations that you can then organize for your research projects.
Citation managers allow you to:
- Save and organize your references.
- Insert and format citations within your paper.
- Create a bibliography.
- Store PDFs.
- Collaborate with others.
Here is a good guide to choosing and using a citation manager for your work.
Geography
- World Geography and Culture OnlineEvery country of the world is profiled in depth, with more than 40 entries and more than 100 statistical indicators covering all aspects of its geography, history, society, and culture. At-a-glance information, maps and flags, videos, images, gazetteer entries, biographies of famous people, a timeline, and current news supplement each country profile.
- CIA World Factbook The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Countries, Peoples and Cultures by Call Number: REFERENCE F1436 .C68ISBN: 9781619258006Publication Date: 2015-12-01
- Library of Congress MapsA collection of historical maps that are in the public domain.