/*Test*/ Skip to Main Content

ENG 316: Business Writing (Lemmer)

Finding Databases by Subject

You can look up databases by subject to find databases that are a good fit for your major/discipline/area of study.  You may find general multi-subject databases, subject specific databases, and reference sources on these lists.  Stay away from any reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) or databases that focus on images, videos, or music since those formats are outside the scope of your assignment.

1. Go to the library homepage: cord.edu/library

2. Under "Databases by Subject" select your discipline from the "Select a Subject" list.

Image of Databases by Subject section of the library homepage. Under "Databases by Subject" heading there is a "Select a Subject" drop down box where you can select your major or minor discipline.

3. Click "Go."

4. Choose from the database(s) listed in the "Best Bets!" and "Additional Databases" sections.

Image of the list of English databases with a red arrow pointing to the "Best Bets" section.

 

Finding Key Journals in Your Major

Identifying significant journals in the field is a good starting point for any disciplinary research.  You can use the Metrics tool in Google Scholar to find these journal titles.

1. Open Google Scholar.

2. Click on the 3 horizontal bars in the upper left corner.

Red arrow pointing to 2 horizontal bars in upper left corner of screen.

3. Click "Metrics" to open a list of the top cited journals over the last 5 years.

4. Scroll down and click "View All"

5. Click on "Categories" and select your field.

6. Then, select a subcategory.

Red boxes around categories and subcategories menus and list of journals.

You can Google the journal titles on the list to learn more about them.  Then, use the Journal Finder tool to see if the journal is available at the Carl B.  If the title is general like Sports Medicine, you can use Ulrichs to look up the ISSN number and do an ISSN search to find it in the Journal Finder.