- Salem Press eBooksSalem Online is the digital platform offered by Salem Press, a publisher known for its high-quality academic and reference materials. It provides online access to Salem's extensive collection of reference works, encyclopedias, and primary source documents. This platform is designed to support students, researchers, and educators by offering reliable, peer-reviewed content across a wide range of subjects, including literature, history, science, health, and social issues.
There are many ways to contextualize and historically analyze a literary work You can locate biographical information about the author; find contemporary critical responses to the work; and/or examine historical studies and artifacts from the period a title was written. Use the resources below to find the information you need.
American Decades Series by Call Number: REFERENCE E169.12 .A42ISBN: 0787650765Publication Date: 2000-12-01
American Eras Series by Call Number: REFERENCE E169.12 .A424ISBN: 9780787614782Publication Date: 1998-07-24
American Writers Series: A Collection of Literary Biographies by Call Number: REFERENCE PS129 .A55ISBN: 9780684197852Publication Date: 1996-09-23This large encyclopedia set is a *great* resource. However, it can also be difficult to search. Please stop by the reference desk and ask a librarian to help!
Notable Native American Writers and Writers of the American West by Call Number: REFERENCE PS129 .N68 2021ISBN: 9781637000045Publication Date: 2022-04-30
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature by Call Number: REFERENCEISBN: 0195156536Publication Date: 2004-01-29
- Bloom's LiteratureA comprehensive database for studying classic and contemporary literature. It provides critical essays, character analyses, and author biographies to support your research in literary studies. This resource can be particularly helpful when you're working on papers or projects related to various authors, works, and literary movements.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781849721325Publication Date: 2006-02-14
- Dictionary of Literary Biography SeriesProvides detailed biographical and critical essays on authors from various time periods and literary traditions. Volumes in the series focus on a specific genre, era, or national literature, offering in-depth profiles of writers along with analyses of their major works and contributions to literature. The essays, authored by literary scholars, typically include comprehensive bibliographies, author portraits, and additional contextual materials.
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781438140599Publication Date: 2013
- Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American LiteratureCovers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.
