English

A comprehensive database for studying classic and contemporary literature. It provides critical essays, character analyses, and author biographies to support your research in literary studies. This resource can be particularly helpful when you're working on papers or projects related to various authors, works, and literary movements.

Provides detailed biographical and critical essays on authors from various time periods and literary traditions. Volumes in the series focus on a specific genre, era, or national literature, offering in-depth profiles of writers along with analyses of their major works and contributions to literature. The essays, authored by literary scholars, typically include comprehensive bibliographies, author portraits, and additional contextual materials.

Covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.

Covers world authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.

Provides the history of words and their use in the English Language.

Contains full-text poems and citations of the most widely-read poems in English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian. Commentaries on individual poems and poet biographies are also included.

Salem Online is the digital platform offered by Salem Press, a publisher known for its high-quality academic and reference materials. It provides online access to Salem's extensive collection of reference works, encyclopedias, and primary source documents. This platform is designed to support students, researchers, and educators by offering reliable, peer-reviewed content across a wide range of subjects, including literature, history, science, health, and social issues.