Academic Journal Collections
- JSTORJSTOR is a searchable archive containing the full text of over 850 scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Concordia has access to Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, VII, Life Sciences and a number of individual Current Collection titles.
- Project MUSEIncludes scholarly articles covering a range of fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, and many others.
Journal Articles
A journal that has been indexed has gone through a strict review process and met all of the requirements set by individual database providers or indexing services. Generally, the expert organization and high-quality content of these library databases save time and yield higher numbers of relevant and authoritative research results. Two common options are JSTOR and Academic Search Premier (EBSCO). "JSTOR and EBSCO are popular online database systems that offer access to academic journals, articles, and research papers. Libraries and educational institutions worldwide use these platforms to provide users access to high-quality scholarly content. JSTOR is a digital library that offers access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The platform provides an archive of scholarly content, with many articles dating back to the 19th century. Academic Search Premier is a comprehensive research database that offers access to scholarly journals, magazines, and books in multiple disciplines, including business, health, education, and social sciences."
"Comparison of JSTOR and EBSCO." Fresh Essays., May 2023, samples.freshessays.com/comparison-of-jstor-and-ebsco.html. Accessed 6 Feb. 2024.
- Academic Search Premier
This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full-text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Also offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. - America: History & LifeA searchable bibliography of articles and book reviews relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present. With coverage from 1895, the database covers 1800+ journals published worldwide.
- Gender Studies DatabaseOffers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, and gender identity.
Newspaper Indexes
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963. View newspaper pages 1860-1925 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. You can also limit by State and ethnicity.
- New York Times HistoricalThe New York Times Historical (1851-2018) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.