“Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources.” YouTube, Austrailian National University Library, 4 August 2020, youtu.be/SzdSAOyZDfI?feature=shared.
A great way to start any research project is by using a reference source to quickly find a basic overview, some general information, or lots of specific facts about an interesting subject. These research tools can also help narrow or focus a broad topic down into a more manageable research project. Reference sources are usually referred to (or "referenced"), rather than closely read. Some examples are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks. Most libraries have online and print reference sources.
-
21st-Century Gothic
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PN3435 .T87 2011ISBN: 9780810877283Publication Date: 2010-12-29 -
American Writers
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PS129 .A55ISBN: 0684325128Publication Date: 2016-09-16 -
Critical Survey of Drama
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PN1707 .C75 2018ISBN: 1682176304Publication Date: 2017-11-01 -
Critical Survey of Long Fiction
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PN3451 .C7 2010ISBN: 9781587655357Publication Date: 2010-02-28 -
Critical Survey of Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PN3433.8 .M34 2017ISBN: 9781682172780Publication Date: 2017-04-30 -
Critical Survey of Short Fiction
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PN3321 .C75 2012ISBN: 9781587657894Publication Date: 2012-05-30 -
Magill's Survey of American Literature
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PS21 .M347 2007ISBN: 1587652854Publication Date: 2006-11-30 -
Magill's Survey of World Literature
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PN523 .M3487 2009ISBN: 9781587654312Publication Date: 2009-10-30 -
Notable American Women Writers
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PS147 .N68 2020ISBN: 9781642654233Publication Date: 2020-05-30 -
Notable Native American Writers and Writers of the American West
by
ISBN: 9781637000045Publication Date: 2022-04-30 -
Novels into Film: Adaptations and Interpretation
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PN1997.85 .N68 2018ISBN: 9781637000366Publication Date: 2022-02-28 -
The Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PR601 .O984 2014ISBN: 9780198704850Publication Date: 2014-04-01 -
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Literature
by
Call Number: REFERENCE PN45 .O924 2009ISBN: 9780195182637Publication Date: 2009-03-27
-
Bloom's LiteratureA comprehensive database for studying classic and contemporary literature. It provides critical essays, character analyses, and author biographies to support your research in literary studies. This resource can be particularly helpful when you're working on papers or projects related to various authors, works, and literary movements.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography SeriesProvides detailed biographical and critical essays on authors from various time periods and literary traditions. Volumes in the series focus on a specific genre, era, or national literature, offering in-depth profiles of writers along with analyses of their major works and contributions to literature. The essays, authored by literary scholars, typically include comprehensive bibliographies, author portraits, and additional contextual materials.
-
Dramatist Play ServiceAn online index for locating plays.
-
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American LiteratureCovers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.
-
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World LiteratureCovers world authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.
-
Gale Literary IndexMaster index to the major literature products published by Gale including African American Writers, British Writers, Modern American Women Writers,and more.
-
Salem Press eBooksSalem Online is the digital platform offered by Salem Press, a publisher known for its high-quality academic and reference materials. It provides online access to Salem's extensive collection of reference works, encyclopedias, and primary source documents. This platform is designed to support students, researchers, and educators by offering reliable, peer-reviewed content across a wide range of subjects, including literature, history, science, health, and social issues.
-
Addictions and Substance Abuse
by
Call Number: REFERENCE RC564 .A356 2018ISBN: 9781682179444Publication Date: 2019-02-28 -
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
by
Call Number: REFERENCE B41 .C36 2015ISBN: 9781107015050Publication Date: 2015-04-27 -
Disabilities
by
Call Number: REFERENCE HV1568 .D579 2009ISBN: 9780313346040Publication Date: 2009-04-30 -
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence
by
Call Number: REFERENCE HV6626 .E536 2007ISBN: 9780415969680Publication Date: 2007-02-22 -
Encyclopedia of Homelessness
by
Call Number: REFERENCE HV4493 .E53 2004ISBN: 9780761927518Publication Date: 2004-06-21 -
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
by
Call Number: REFERENCE HQ1115 .E53 2001ISBN: 9780122272455Publication Date: 2001-10-16 -
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
by
Call Number: REFERENCE RC437 .G36 2018ISBN: 9781410388179Publication Date: 2018-11-01 -
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
by
Call Number: REFERENCE HQ9 .I58 2003ISBN: 9780028656724Publication Date: 2002-11-27 -
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
by
Call Number: REFERENCE HQ1073 .M33 2003ISBN: 9780028656892Publication Date: 2002-08-23 -
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
by
Call Number: REFERENCE CB5 .N493 2005ISBN: 9780684313771Publication Date: 2004-12-03 -
Nonbinary Gender Identities: History, Culture, Resources
by
Call Number: REFERENCE HQ73 .M36 2018ISBN: 1442275510Publication Date: 2017-12-08 -
The Oxford Companion to the Mind
by
Call Number: REFERENCE BF31 .O943 2004ISBN: 9780198662242Publication Date: 2004-12-03 -
Plagues, Pandemics, and Public Health
by
Call Number: REFERENCE RA649 .P36 2020ISBN: 9781642657333Publication Date: 2020-12-30 -
The Praeger Handbook of Adoption
by
Call Number: REFERENCE HV875 .P734 2006ISBN: 9780313333354Publication Date: 2006-10-30 -
The State of Working America
by
Call Number: REFERENCE HD8066 .S73 2012ISBN: 9780801451706Publication Date: 2012-12-15
-
Credo ReferenceAn online research platform providing access to hundreds of high-quality reference works from reputable publishers. It offers a wide range of content including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and subject-specific titles across various disciplines. The database features a user-friendly interface with tools for cross-referencing, visual concept mapping, and seamless integration with other library resources.
-
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA comprehensive online database that provides access to digital reference works, including encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialized sources across numerous academic and general interest topics.
-
Points of View Reference CenterPro vs. con essays of current or controversial issues. Plus magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, and more related to those issues.
-
Sage ReferenceA digital library of reference works and academic books produced by Sage Publications. It covers a wide range of social science disciplines, including sociology, psychology, education, business, and political science. The collection provides researchers, students, and faculty with authoritative, peer-reviewed content in a user-friendly online format, featuring advanced search capabilities and regular updates.
-
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
by
ISBN: 9780028683898 -
