K-12 Databases
Databases in this list are specifically geared toward elementary, middle, and high school students. All of the databases listed below are from the Electronic Library for Minnesota and are freely available to Minnesota residents. Many of the databases are also available via ODIN and are freely available to residents of North Dakota (via the ODIN website).
- Britannica Fundamentals
This link opens in a new window
Interactive learning modules for pre-kindergarten through grade 2 includes drawing, reading, games, and geographical exploration. This resources supports classroom curricula and helps students build technology skills. - Britannica School: Elementary
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia content for elementary grades plus multimedia, timelines, world atlas, country comparison, animal kingdom, and geography explorer. Also includes teacher resouces to link content to the Common Core State Standards. - Britannica School: High
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia content for high school grades plus multimedia, timelines, world atlas, country comparison, and primary sources. Also includes teacher resouces to link content to the Common Core State Standards. - Britannica School: Middle
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia content for middle school grades plus multimedia, timelines, world atlas, country comparison, and primary sources. Also includes teacher resouces to link content to the Common Core State Standards. - Explora Kids
- This link opens in a new window
Contains elementary school-appropriate magazines, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and images. Includes Primary Search and Middle Search Plus databases. - Explora Teens
- This link opens in a new window
Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia. Includes Middle Search Plus, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source - Consumer Edition, and Science Reference Center databases. - Gale In Context: Middle School
- This link opens in a new window
A middle school-appropriate database of reference works, biographies, magazine and journal articles, primary source documents, and multimedia. - PebbleGo and PebbleGo Next
- This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo PreK-2 database for reading and research. Animals and Biographies. PebbleGo Next Grades 3-6 database for reading and research. States and Native American. Offers key reading supports such as read-along audio and word-by-word highlighting. - Science Reference Center
- This link opens in a new window
Science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources covering numerous science topics for middle and high school students. Articles are correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
