Books & More
- WorldCat Discovery Library CatalogA search tool that allows you to explore the collections of your college library, such as the Carl B., as well as those of libraries worldwide. It offers comprehensive search capabilities for both physical and digital resources, with features like filters and advanced options to help you effectively and efficiently find research materials on virtually any topic.
Punctum Books
- Punctum Books"Punctum books, founded in Brooklyn, New York in 2011, and now incorporated in Santa Barbara, California as a public benefit corporation co-directed by Eileen A. Fradenburg Joy and Vincent W.J. van Gerven Oei, is an independent queer- and scholar-led, community-formed, and peer-reviewed Sparkly Diamond open-access book (OA) publisher devoted to academic and para-academic authors working in any field in the humanities, social sciences, fine arts, and architecture and design who want to publish books that are genre-queer and genre-bending and which take experimental risks with the forms and styles of intellectual writing."
*This collection is made available through the JSTOR database*
Online Books
The library has thousands of digital books that you can read online or download. Whether you are on campus or away from campus, you will be able to use these digital books to complete your projects.
Our EBook Central books have several ways to search inside the book:
- Look at the Table of Contents
- Check the Index for key words or phrases related to your topic
- Once you click on any chapter in the book, a "Search within Book" option will appear on the left; use that to search for specific terms, names, etc.
Best Practice in using Ebook Central:
- You can read books in your browser without downloading them.
- Sign in when you use it (upper right corner; use your cord email sign in).
- Add books to your "Bookshelf" -- this will store them for your use later, even if you don't check them out/download them.
- Use the highlighter and sticky notes to help you study or to emphasize quotations (when you sign back in later, it will remember all of your notes, even if you didn't download the book).
- If your book is being used by your whole class, download individual chapters directly from your browser without downloading or checking out the whole book. For our 1-user license books, this allows others to see and read the chapter.
Ebooks
- ProQuest Ebook CentralOnline platform offering access to a vast collection of academic and scholarly eBooks across various subjects. It provides user-friendly features like easy search, online reading, downloading, and tools for highlighting and annotating. It supports multiple devices for convenient reading anywhere.
- EBSCO ebooksA collection of digital books, covering a wide range of subjects across various academic disciplines. The collection includes titles from major academic publishers and university presses, ensuring access to high-quality content suitable for research and study. Users can find both specialized academic texts and general reference materials.
Print Books
- WorldCat Discovery Library CatalogA search tool that allows you to explore the collections of your college library, such as the Carl B., as well as those of libraries worldwide. It offers comprehensive search capabilities for both physical and digital resources, with features like filters and advanced options to help you effectively and efficiently find research materials on virtually any topic.
Women's & Gender Studies -- Call Number Guide
Use the call number ranges below to find books in the Main and Reference collections. For help using call numbers, contact the library's reference desk.
| Call Number | Women's & Gender Studies | Floor |
|---|---|---|
| BF692 - 692.5 | Psychology, sex and gender | 1st |
| HD6053 - 6223 | Women and work | 3rd |
| HQ75 - 76.9 | Bisexual, gay and lesbian studies | 3rd |
| HQ77 - 77.95 | Transgender studies | 3rd |
| HQ 1101 - 2030.7 | Women and feminism | 3rd |
| HQ 1121 - 1150 | Women's history | 3rd |
| KF 4758 | Legislation and women's rights | 3rd |
| P 94.5 W65 | Women in the media | 3rd |
| PN 471 - 494 | Women writers and women in literature | 3rd |
| RA 564.83 - 564.9 | Health and gender, health and sexuality | 4th |
| RC 451.4 - 451.5 | Mental health and gender, mental health and ethnicity | 4th |