GS 118: Culture, Identity, & Dialogue (Varner)

A leading multidisciplinary research database providing access to a vast collection of peer-reviewed academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly content. It covers a wide range of subjects, including social sciences, humanities, education, health, and science and technology. The database is frequently updated, ensuring users have access to the latest research and articles in their fields of interest.

An online research platform providing access to hundreds of high-quality reference works from reputable publishers. It offers a wide range of content including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and subject-specific titles across various disciplines. The database features a user-friendly interface with tools for cross-referencing, visual concept mapping, and seamless integration with other library resources.

Offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, and gender identity.

Index with limited full-text to environmental issues. Includes topics such as climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, and recycling. Sources included scholarly, government, and general interest publications.

Philpapers monitors “all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives. [The] index currently includes 2,418,577 research books and articles.” Accessing PhilPapers using the Carl B. Ylvisaker Library allows students and faculty to link to many subscription-only journals cited by the index, getting past paywalls to full-text articles.

A comprehensive news database that provides access to current and archival news content from major U.S. newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only news websites.

An index of international scholarship in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Every country of the world is profiled in depth, with more than 40 entries and more than 100 statistical indicators covering all aspects of its geography, history, society, and culture. At-a-glance information, maps and flags, videos, images, gazetteer entries, biographies of famous people, a timeline, and current news supplement each country profile.