One great way to start any research project is by using a reference source to quickly find a basic overview, general information, or specific facts about an interesting subject area. Reference tools can also help narrow or focus really large topics into more manageable research questions and guide thesis statement development. Reference sources are usually referred to (or "referenced"), rather than closely read cover to cover. A few examples: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks. Most academic libraries have both online and print reference sources.
Defining Documents in World History: Plagues, Pandemics, and Public Health by Call Number: REFERENCE RA649 .P36 2020ISBN: 9781642657333Publication Date: 2020-12-30
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Call Number: REFERENCE GT2850 .E53 2003ISBN: 9780684805689Publication Date: 2002-12-17
Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Call Number: REFERENCE GF4 .E5364 2006ISBN: 9781452265339Publication Date: 2006-05-16
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Call Number: REFERENCE B51 .E537 2006ISBN: 9780028657806Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations by Call Number: REFERENCE D860 .M56 2002ISBN: 9780313316173Publication Date: 2002-05-30
Food and World Culture by Call Number: REFERENCE GT2850 .W38 2022ISBN: 9781440869990Publication Date: 2022-08-23
International Education by Call Number: REFERENCE LB15 .I58 2013ISBN: 9780765620491Publication Date: 2013-02-26
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by Call Number: Reference HQ9 .I58 2003ISBN: 9780028656724Publication Date: 2002-11-27
The New Atlas of World History by Call Number: REFERENCE G1030 .H39 2011ISBN: 9780691152691Publication Date: 2011-10-30
The Oxford Handbook of Food Ethics by Call Number: REFERENCE TX357 .O94 2018ISBN: 9780199372263Publication Date: 2018-02-05
Race, Ethnicity, and Education by Call Number: REFERENCE LC1099.3 .R334 2006ISBN: 9780275985967Publication Date: 2006-06-30
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Call Number: REFERENCE HQ1115 .R685 2000ISBN: 9780415920896Publication Date: 2004-11-11
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Call Number: REFERENCE GN333 .W67 2009ISBN: 9781414448824Publication Date: 2009-05-12
- Countries, Peoples & Cultures SeriesThe Countries, Peoples & Cultures series is complete with specific information on over 200 countries and self-governing territories, as well as separate appendices profiling 21 types of governments currently in power and 10 major world religions.
- World Geography and Culture OnlineEvery country of the world is profiled in depth, with more than 40 entries and more than 100 statistical indicators covering all aspects of its geography, history, society, and culture. At-a-glance information, maps and flags, videos, images, gazetteer entries, biographies of famous people, a timeline, and current news supplement each country profile.
- Britannica Academic
This link opens in a new window
With contributions from Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors and other notable experts, Britannica Academic provides trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else. - CQ ResearcherWeekly publication containing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Full-text articles are available from 1923.
- Credo Reference
A library subscription database that provides access to thousands of articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. It is a great place to find overviews and background information on your research topic. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
- This link opens in a new window
An online collection of reference works
- SAGE eReference CollectionA full-text collection of online specialized encyclopedias in the social sciences, including communications, gender studies, social work, history, psychology, etc.
