Open Access Search
- Anti-Racism Digital Library and Thesaurus"The Anti-racism Digital Library serves as a clearinghouse for information resources about people, groups, and projects who are building inclusive and caring communities. Anti-racism can be defined as some form of focused and sustained action, which includes inter-cultural, inter-faith, multi-lingual and inter-abled (i.e. differently abled) communities with the intent to change a system or an institutional policy, practice, or procedure which has racist effects."
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryOffers a collection of millions of digitized titles from libraries around the world.
- Minnesota Digital Library MDLDatabase of digitized original materials shared by cultural heritage organizations located across our state. These materials include images, text, audio, film, and more, with new items added on a regular basis. The resources found on this site support research for scholars, educators, students, and the public.
- Minnesota Digital Newspaper HubA searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes hundreds of thousands of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1856 and today.
- Minnesota People Records SearchIndex for birth, death and veteran's graves. Index and digitized MN census records.
The Library has a number of primary source collections which might be useful for your work. You may also want to consider data sets and government documents not listed here as additional primary sources; ask a librarian if you would like some help finding these. Always check with your professor before you use primary sources you find on the open web, as that expert guidance is crucial in finding good-quality collections online.
Primary Sources Databases
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852)
This link opens in a new window
Collection of archive American magazines documenting the life of America's people from 1838-1852 - American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865)
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of archive American magazines 1853 to 1865 focuses on the Civil War and a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. - American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (1684-1820)
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of archive American magazines documenting the life of America's people from the 1684 through 1820 the Colonial Era. - American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837)
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of archive American magazines documenting the life of America's people from 1821 to 1837 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics. - American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1912)
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of archive American magazines documenting the life of America's people from 1866-1912. - Black Freedom Struggle in the United StatesSelect primary source documents related to critical people and events in United States African American history.
- Britannica Original Sources
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 420,000 documents that is continuously increasing. Includes e-works of classics, primary source, and general reference materials covering everything from science to the arts and languages. - Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and LawThis is an exhaustive collection US federal and state laws about slavery, and legislative speeches. It includes hundreds out of copyright books, pamphlets, and journals, with some content behind a pay wall.
- Umbra: African American HistoryUmbra Search is a digital library that aggregates materials documenting African American history and cultural life from archives, libraries, museums, and other US repositories. Umbra Search features thumbnail images and descriptive information about photographs, manuscripts, documents, books, sound files, video files, and other freely available resources.
Primary Sources: Anthologies
The Schlager Anthology of Early America by Call Number: Ref E188 .S35 2022ISBN: 9781935306672Publication Date: 2022Available in print; visit the library Reference Room for access.
The Schlager Anthology of the Gilded and Progressive Era by ISBN: 9781935306658Publication Date: 2021
The Schlager Anthology of Westward Expansion by Call Number: Ref E179.5 .S35 2022ISBN: 9781935306603Publication Date: 2022-02-15Available in print; visit the library Reference Room for access.
