Introduction to eBooks

An eBook license tells us how many people can use an eBook at one time.  Many, but not all, of our eBooks are licensed for unlimited users.  An unlimited user license means that an unlimited number of people can use the eBook at once.  Some of our eBooks are licensed for a specific number of users, usually one or three.  These licenses work like print books in that one user can use each copy we have access to at a time.

Some eBooks in the catalog include a note that shares license information in the "Check Availability" section.

The Carl B. offers eBooks on several platforms.  Each platform displays licensing information differently, but here are a few examples of what to look for.

In eBook Central, license information is under “Availability.” 

In EBSCO eBooks, the license information is included in the “Concurrent User Level” on the eBook’s detailed record screen.

Some of the Carl B.’s eBook platforms will allow results to be filtered by number of copies.  Look for the license or number of copy limiters in the advanced search or in the search result limiters.  Here’s what these limiters look like in eBook Central:

Advanced Search:

Search Results Limiter:

The Carl B. has eBooks on several different platforms.  Availability information looks different on each platform, but here are a few examples of what to look for.

In eBook Central, if the eBook is available, you will be able to click the purple “Read Online” and “Download Book” buttons, and the “Availability” section will tell you how long you can download the book for, how many pages you can download, how many pages you can copy, and how many pages remain available to copy or download.  

The “Availability” section will also tell you if the book is currently in use.  When the book is in use, the “Read Online” and “Download Book” options are grayed out.

In EBSCO eBooks, you can click on the "PDF Full Text," “EPUB Full Text” or “Full Download” buttons to view the eBook or download it.  Some books will not have all of these options.

If you select "PDF Full Text," the full text will open in your browser, and you can download a PDF of individual chapters or specific pages in the book.  If you select "EPUB Full Text," the full text will open in your browser.  If you select "Full Download," you will be asked to log in or create an EBSCO account and select the duration of the checkout.  The duration will vary based on the title. 

If the eBook isn't available, you will see a window explaining that the eBook is in use, and you will be asked to sign in to place a hold on the eBook.

The Carl B. has eBooks on several different platforms, and how you access the full text will vary depending on which platform you are using.  Generally, eBooks are available to read online and download.  Reading online is a good option if you know other people will need to use the same eBook as you or if you want to look at the book quickly.  Downloading the book is helpful when you know you will be using the eBook over a period of time and want to make sure it is available.  Depending on the platform, you might have other options for accessing the eBook like downloading or printing a chapter.  There are often limits on how many pages of an eBook you can download or print, but you do not need to return downloaded or printed content.

Here is an example of the options you have for viewing the full text in eBook Central:

Here's an example of the options you have to view the full text in EBSCO eBooks.  Not all EBSCO eBooks have all of these options.

Some eBook platforms will ask you to log in or create an account to download or view an eBook.  In eBook Central, you can log in using your Concordia user name and password.

In other eBook databases, like EBSCO eBooks, you can click "Sign In/Create Account" and follow the directions on the screen to log in.

Many of the Carl B.'s eBook databases use Adobe Digital Editions to manage their eBook downloads/checkouts and will ask you to download Adobe Digital Editions in order to access a downloaded copy of an eBook.

To download Adobe Digital Editions:

1. Follow the directions if the database prompts you to download Adobe Digital Editions or lists "viewing requirements" you need to access the eBook.

2. Open the downloaded installer and click "Run."

3. Follow the installation directions as prompted.

Once you've downloaded your eBook, click on the downloaded file to open it.  This file may appear in a downloads folder or in the lower left corner of your browser.

Once you click on the file, it will open in Adobe Digital Editions.  You can scroll up and down or click on the left or right sides of the page to move from one page to the next depending on how the book is set up.

If you have more than one book in Adobe Digital Editions, you can click on "Library" to return to your bookshelf and see everything you have checked out.

If you are viewing an eBook online, you can return it by closing the tab or browser it is open in.

If you have downloaded the eBook, you can go to your bookshelf in Adobe Digital Editions and right click the book you want to return.  Then, click "Return Borrowed Item" to return the book early. 

If you don't return the eBook early, the eBook will return itself when it is due, and there will be an "expired" label on the cover letting you know it has been returned.

The amount of time you can check an eBook out for varies depending on the book.  Some books can only be checked out for a few hours while others can be checked out for weeks.

In eBook Central, the check out time is listed in the "Availability" section under "Download Book."  This book can be checked out for 21 days.

As you download the eBook, you'll be prompted to select your loan length.

Similarly, once you click, "Full Download" in EBSCO eBooks, you will also see how long you can check the eBook out for and select the length of the loan under "eBook Download Details."

If you don't return the eBook early, the eBook will return itself when it is due, and there will be an "expired" label on the cover letting you know it has been returned.