HIST 112: U.S. in Perspective since 1865 (Pawlikowski)

"Founded in 1845, the New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS) is the country’s leading resource for family history research. We help genealogists of all skill levels improve their knowledge and understanding of their family and its place in history. We provide our award-winning website, AmericanAncestors.org, as the online repository for more than 1.4 billion searchable names from America and beyond. Although our name says New England, we provide expertise and research across American family history."

Ancestry.com "combines billions of rich historical records, millions of family trees and samples from millions of people in the AncestryDNA® network" and makes these records searchable. A 14-day free trial is available.

Videos and how-to instructions for conducting genealogical research.

" Search more than 11.6 billion photos, newspapers, and vital records to get information about your ancestors."
A free trial is available.

"Castlegarden.org is a free database developed and funded by The Battery Conservancy. It contains and makes available eleven million records of immigrants who arrived at the Port of New York from 1820 - 1892. Today more than 100 million Americans can trace their ancestry to this early period of immigration."

"A comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online."

"During the largest human migration in modern history, Ellis Island processed more immigrants than all other North American ports combined. Today, tens of millions of Americans can trace at least one ancestor to Ellis."

"FamilySearch is an international, nonprofit organization dedicated to helping all people discover their family story."

"Our vital records cover 90% of North America, with birth, marriage and death records, starting from the early 1700s." Includes British Isles information as well. A 14-day trial is free.

Military records for the U.S., Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom. Browse military records by the war or by name. A 7-day free trial is available.

Over 13,000 Big City & Small Town Newspapers: find birth, marriage, engagement announcements, hometown news and more from all 50 States.
260+ Million obituaries: expand your family tree in all directions with the world's largest online obituary archive, updated daily.
A 7-day free trial is available.

"The DAR Genealogical Research System (GRS) is a free resource provided by the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) to aid general genealogical research and to assist with the DAR membership process. The GRS is a collection of databases that provide access to the many materials amassed by the DAR since its founding in 1890."
Note restrictions on use: "The databases contain DAR proprietary information which should under no circumstances be redistributed to others, assembled, reproduced, published, or posted in any form whatsoever with the exception of the following: (i) DAR membership and supplemental applications; (ii) citation in genealogical scholarship; and (iii) citing a DAR patriot name and number in publications and on third party websites."

"Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to immigrants from the late 1700s through the early 2000s. The National Archives preserves and makes available documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business."

"20,000+ Passenger Manifests in 21 Volumes plus numerous other passengers listed in Special Projects."
Starting on the volume 1 landing page, you may search immigrant ships by volume, by last name, by era, or by port of departure.

"This exclusive database offers meticulous documentation for the fifth generation of Mayflower passengers who arrived in 1620 and left descendants."
This is fee-based subscription, with no free trial.

"From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. Explore the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, discover British, European and Asian migration and investigate unique primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organisational papers supplemented by carefully compiled teaching and research aids."

"The CDC's National Center for Health Statistics web site tells how to obtain birth, death, marriage, and divorce records from state and territorial agencies."
Pro-tip: if you plan to request records from the Vital Records department of a state, do so early in the semester; these state offices are often understaffed and not all records are digitized. Usually, a small fee is required for processing. *Be aware that there are some limitations on who may request copies of birth and death certificates, due to the potential for fraud or misuse of the certificate.

Marriage, Divorce, Probate, and Civil Case Indexes. Census, Obituary, Naturalization records. Some records requests are fee-based.

"We find your family tree for you in the work submitted by others linked into the world's largest collaborative online family tree." A 7-day free trial is available.

The National Archives provides help for beginner genealogists. Many of their records are digitally available.

Many of the searches are free, but this site also links to some fee-based subscription services for genealogy.

"The USGenWeb Project ® was established in 1996 by a group of genealogists who shared a desire to create free online resources for genealogical research. Originally beginning with online directories of text-based resources, their vision has grown into a network of over 3000 linked websites, all individually created and maintained by a community of volunteers. Today you may find a variety of unique county and state resources including photos, maps, transcriptions, historical documents, helpful links, and much more."

"Vital records most commonly refer to records such as birth and death certificates, marriage licenses and divorce decrees, wills and the like. These records are created by local authorities, and with possible exceptions for events overseas, in the military, or in the District of Columbia. They are not considered Federal records; therefore they are not held by NARA." Links are provided to lists of records.

"The WorldGenWeb Project is a non-profit, volunteer-based organization dedicated to providing genealogical and historical records and resources for world-wide access!"

"The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America."

"Selected archival and manuscript materials, books, and periodicals held by the Cuban Heritage Collection have been digitized and are available online through the University of Miami Libraries Digital Collections portal."

This is "a selective grouping of digital projects that feature Latin American & Caribbean materials."

"Research here explores the demographics, migration flows, human-capital development, interconnected policy realities, and outcomes for immigrants from Central America and the Caribbean."

"South American migration beyond the region is chiefly to the United States and Europe. The research offered here sketches the dynamism of South America's migration and refugee trends and policies."