Contemporary Issues
- CQ ResearcherWeekly publication containing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Full-text articles are available from 1923.
Reference
Reference books and databases, including encyclopedias and dictionaries, provide background information on your topic. Use reference books to achieve a broad understanding of your topic.
Print Reference
Africana by Call Number: Ref DT14 .A37435 2005ISBN: 9780195170559Publication Date: 2005-04-07
American Decades Series by Call Number: Ref E169.12 .A42ISBN: 9780787650766Publication Date: 2000-12-01
The American Midwest by Call Number: Ref F351 .A443 2007ISBN: 9780253348869Publication Date: 2006-11-08
American Pop by Call Number: Ref E169.1 .A497 2009ISBN: 9780313364112Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Bulls, Bears, Boom, and BustCall Number: Ref HF3021 .D6 2007Publication Date: 2006-10-19
Early American Civilizations by Call Number: Ref E169.12 .A424ISBN: 9780787614782Publication Date: 1998-07-24
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by Call Number: Ref E185 .E542 2006ISBN: 9780195167771Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.
Call Number: Reference E185 .E5423 2009ISBN: 9780195167795Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Encyclopedia of African American Society by Call Number: Ref E185 .E57 2005ISBN: 9780761927648Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and WarfareCall Number: Ref E81 .E536 2005Publication Date: 2005-03-01
The Encyclopedia of the Midwest by Call Number: Ref F351 .C33ISBN: 9780816016600Publication Date: 1989-01-01
Handbook of American Women's History by Call Number: Ref HQ1410 .H363 2000ISBN: 9780761916352Publication Date: 2000-07-22
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups by Call Number: E184.A1 H37 1980ISBN: 9780674375123Publication Date: 1980-10-10
Icons of African American Protest by Call Number: Ref E185.96 .K596 2009ISBN: 9780313340628Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Youth, Education, and Sexualities by Call Number: Ref LC192.6 .Y68 2005ISBN: 9780313327483Publication Date: 2005-10-30
Online Reference
- African American Music ReferenceAfrican American Music Reference brings together books, sheet music, images, song lyrics, liner notes and discographies on the history and culture of African American music. Coverage includes blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
- American Fact Finder (Explore Census Data)American FactFindh has been decommissioned, Search the Census data...demographic, economic, and housing information.
- Credo Reference
A library subscription database that provides access to thousands of articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. It is a great place to find overviews and background information on your research topic. - Daily Life through History PremiumCross-disciplinary resource that supports history, social studies, English, and language students, Daily Life Online moves seamlessly from past to present, providing context for contemporary life and culture.
- MNOPEDIAAn online encyclopedia about the State of Minnesota developed by the Minnesota Historical Society (MNHS) and its partners. Free, curated, and authoritative articles. Prepared by historians, consulting experts, professional writers, and others who have been vetted by MNHS.
- World Geography and Culture OnlineEvery country of the world is profiled in depth, with more than 40 entries and more than 100 statistical indicators covering all aspects of its geography, history, society, and culture. At-a-glance information, maps and flags, videos, images, gazetteer entries, biographies of famous people, a timeline, and current news supplement each country profile.
- Encyclopedia of American Studies"Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present." Johns Hopkins University Press for the American Studies Association (ASA)
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual HistoryISBN: 9780684805610Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Encyclopedia of Education by Call Number: Reference LB15 .E53 2003ISBN: 9780028655949Publication Date: 2002An eight volume encyclopedia that contains articles on institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world.
A New Literary History of America by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780674035942Publication Date: 2009-09-23- Sports in America : From Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century : An Encyclopedia by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780765630636Publication Date: 2013
