Accessibility
The Carl B. Ylvisaker Library is committed to providing equal access to library collections, services, and facilities for all library users. Visit our website for more information about accessing items in the physical collection, locating software and accessibility stations, and finding accessible study spaces.
Online Resources
Many of the Carl B.'s online resources include accessibility features like read aloud capabilities. To learn which databases have these features visit the library's A-Z Databases list.
Many databases in the A-Z list have icons after their name that indicate database features like audio, video, images, read aloud, opens in a new window, etc. Hover your mouse over the icon to see what each icon means.
You can also use the "All Database Types" drop down box to see a list of all the databases that have the feature you are looking for.
Books
If you are looking for accessibility features in print books, you can limit by format while searching the Library Catalog to find what you need. For example, you can limit to large print books. If the Carl B. doesn't have the book in the format you need, we can ask to borrow it from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Just keep in mind that it can take a few days for items to arrive, so plan accordingly. Unfortunately, the Carl B. isn't able to borrow eBooks or eAudiobooks through ILL. If you are interested in learning more about accessibility in eBook Central, one of the Carl B.'s eBook platforms, visit the EBook Central Accessibility page on the Introduction to eBooks Libguide.
Questions
If you have questions or need help finding a specific type of material, contact the librarians at the Carl B. We are available in person at the reference desk and over phone, email, and the Ask a Librarian chat.
- Email a Question
- Ask a Librarian Chat
- Reference phone: (218) 299-4656