Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Click here to connect to MLAB.
Tutorials
"What is the MLA International Bibliography?" (on EBSCO) (produced by MLA)
"Understanding Results and Locating Full Text When You Use the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO" (produced by MLA)
"Researching Linguistics in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO" (produced by MLA)
Hints for Using the MLAB:
- The MLA International Bibliography uses a thesaurus of terms to help describe the content of articles, books, and other resources. A thesaurus is a controlled vocabulary that establishes a preferred term to be used across synonyms, and defined broader and narrower terms. Using the subject terms from the thesaurus can make your searching more effective. Click on the Browse Thesaurus link at the top of the MLAB home page to explore your topic.